A Faultline Album Review

Faultline – Your Love Means Everything

(Blanco y Negro/Warner Music UK)

While some may want to dismiss this as the latest answer to “Chill Out” electronic music, it hovers above the heap, way above. Even without vocal performances by Chris Martin (Coldplay) on “Where Is My Boy” and “Your Love Means Everything Part 2” as well as Michael Stipe (R.E.M.) on “Greenfields,” this album is a plenary effort. Additional vocals by Jacob Golden and Wayne Coyne (The Flaming Lips) also provide a departure from the mesmeric compositions.

Faultline (a.k.a. David Kosten) is dark, but still gives hope. It eases with a dash of panic. So beautifully orchestrated that you’ll want to curl up in a ball with headphones on, eyes closed, only to open them and realize that you are still in the same place you began your passage. Love Means Everything is one of the most thoughtful electronic albums to come this year.

5 thoughts on “A Faultline Album Review”

  1. Burn you a copy?! That’s illegal, dude. Just use a credit card. That’s what I do.

  2. three words: suck my ass. if that’s so illegal (burning discs, not sucking ass, though in certain backwoods states…) then i am pressing charges for as many “stuffs i’m listening to” as i received from you. okay, honky, you done already gots yourself a major record if that’s the case. (and i mean, like, not LP record, but in the “doin’ time” sense of the word.)

    burn, baby, burn!

    do it for your old mama, here.


  3. You are going to press charges? Gosh, I’m not sure what to say. I’m kind of beside myself. After all I’ve done for you, exposing you to some of the best music, this is what I get in return? I’m pretty sure other people have bought the CD. Perhaps you should find someone else.

Comments are closed.